Beauty Department: Benefit Brow Zings

Benefit Cosmetics, a beauty brand from San Francisco, USA, recently launched in New Zealand.  A counter opened at the Auckland International Airport a few months ago and a counter at Smith and Caugheys Newmarket just opened on the weekend.  I was obsessed with Benefit products about five or six years ago when I was doing a lot of international travel and would buy as much as I could whenever I came across their products.  Benefit has a focus on fun with a retro feel to their packaging and adorable product names such as Badgal Lash (mascara), Dr Feelgood (a complexion balm) and Sun Beam (a bronze liquid highlighter).

I visited their counter in Smith and Caugheys Newmarket on the weekend and one of their makeup artists applied their eyebrow kit Brow Zings for me.  I’ve never really done my eyebrows before.  I have black hair and reasonable sized brows that I keep in shape with regular plucking.  I’ve only really used the odd tube of brow mascara to brush stray hairs into place but have never really stuck with anything.

A good friend recently recommended that I start defining my eyebrows, in her words; it will change your life and you’ll never go back.

The Benefit makeup artist was a bit more heavy handed with the Brow Zings than I would probably be at home and every time I caught sight of myself in the mirror, I did a double take at my big thick, well defined eyebrows.

I had to take a couple of days to think about it but yesterday went back to purchase the kit.  Brow Zings come with a coloured soft wax for keeping hairs in place and a matching powder for filling in gaps.  You also get two little brushes for application and a mini pair of tweezers.  I tried the product at home by myself for the first time today and am thrilled with the results.  I applied a lot less and the result is sharply defined eyebrows that frame my face a lot better.  It also didn’t add much more time to my morning makeup routine.  Maybe only another minute or so.

Its only been one day, but so far I’m a convert and will be adding this product to my daily makeup routine.  It looks like my friend was right, now that I’ve started, I can’t go back!

Brow Zings by Benefit Cosmetics – $57

https://www.facebook.com/BenefitCosmeticsNewZealand

Leave a Reply

